St Mary's Priory Abergavenny: The Priory Centre

WEB LINKS: St Mary's Parish Church, St Mary's Priory, Abergavenny


St Marys font
Parish of Evander Secunda

The Church in Wales is split into six dioceses – Llandaff, St David’s, Bangor, St Asaph, Swansea and Brecon, and Monmouth.

The Diocese of Monmouth covers the south east corner of Wales, from Monmouth south to Chepstow, westwards along the M4 corridor to Newport and the outskirts of Cardiff, northwards into the south eastern valleys and east into the rural areas around Usk, Raglan, Abergavenny, and the Herefordshire border.

The Diocese of the Highveld, South Africa. On November 19, 2003, Bishop Dominic Walker of Monmouth and Bishop David Beetge of The Highveld signed an agreement linking our two diocese for five years. Since then visitors – including from St Mary’s – have travelled between the dioceses and parishes have formed their own individual links.

Evander Secunda (just outside Johannesburg) is our link parish. 

Forward in Faith is a worldwide organisation which affirms the faith of the Church as revealed in Scripture and Tradition and whose members are unable in conscience to accept the ordination of women as priests or as bishops. Forward in Faith UK was founded in November 1992. Its members are to be found in all parts of the British Isles, as well as in mainland Europe, in the Diocese of Gibraltar in Europe.

Credo Cymru - Forward in Faith Wales is a voice for traditional believers in the Church in Wales which upholds the faith handed down from Christ by the apostles, the faith of St David and all the saints of Wales, the faith of the historic mainstream of Anglican Christians.

The Additional Curates Society is a missionary society which helps the Church to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus to the people of England and Wales by providing parishes with priests and by encouraging vocations to the priesthood. We are grateful for the support we recieve from them.

Cadw is the historic environment service of the Welsh Assembly Government. 'Cadw' (pronounced cad-oo) is a Welsh word meaning 'to keep'. It welcomes over a million visitors to their sites every year and aims to protect the historic environment of Wales by working with partners and private owners. St Mary’s has received much financial help from Cadw, for which we are very thankful.

Abergavenny is the traditional gateway to South Wales and, to the incomparable Brecon Beacons National Park, as well as to the important World Heritage Site at Blaenavon. This ancient town is bordered by the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains and nestles in the famous Usk Valley. As well as being an excellent centre from which to explore this beautiful area, Abergavenny also has a thriving business community. This website has been established both for the benefit of visitors and also as a valuable resource for local people and businesses. For more about the town and the area:

The Brecon Beacons National Park spans 519 square miles (1,344 square kilometres). Established in 1957, it is located in south-east and mid-Wales, and contains some of the most spectacular and diverse landscapes in Europe. The area is home to Pen y Fan, with its distinctive red table top summit - the highest Old Red Sandstone summit in Britain.


Back to top of page